Happy New Year!  One of my goals for this year is to spend more time blogging on this site and doing some updates.  Hopefully this resolution will last past next week!  A change this year is that I am going to switch from having 10% off supplements to having tax included in supplement purchases.  Initial visits will continue to be $95 and follow up visits will stay at $30.  I am hoping to focus on food for many of my blogs because I am convinced that we can make the most changes in our health by the food choices that we make.  I don't know about you, but coming off of the holidays, I am craving healthy foods, and I don't care if I don't see another caramel turtle until next Christmas!  I am going to start next week's blog talking about sugar.  This would be a great week to evaluate how much sugar that you are ingesting each day.  The difficulty with this is that there is so much sugar hidden in foods under names like corn syrup, sucrose, honey, and much more.  According to the January issue of the Oprah magazine, the American Heart Association recommends limiting our added sugar intake to six teaspoons daily, but we are actually getting about 22 teaspoons of sugar each day.  This is pretty easy to do.  A can of pop can have up to 10 teaspoons of sugar.  If you are keeping track this week, each label will tell you how much sugar is in a serving of food or beverage.  More on this next week... Shanna



Leave a Reply.